Personal Social Media

I am embarking on my fifth semester of public relations and social media classes. Through these classes I have integrated a number of social media platforms into my daily agenda. Even beginning most of these classes, social media played a prominent role even in simply socializing. Here are a few of the social media platforms I use and a brief description of what I use them for:

  1. Twitter. This is probably the social network I use the most on a daily basis. I first signed up for a twitter account my senior year of high school but my usage really took off when I began college. I strictly used twitter for socializing with friends and keeping up with the news and celebrities. After several PR classes and internships involving social networking, I have learned the effectiveness twitter offers in the workplace and creating professional connections. I like twitter because it’s clean and simple. It provides a means of sharing an excess amount of information in few words.
  2. Facebook. Facebook is another social network I actively use. Just like twitter, I began using Facebook solely for the purpose of socializing. I like Facebook because it allows me to stay connect with my friends directly and from a distance. Facebook also allows room for marketing events through wall post and event invitations.
  3. Tumblr. This is what I use the most when it comes to blogging. I like it because it’s easy to use and visually appealing. I can blog the longest of posts that provide insight into my life or excerpts from writings or something as simple as a quote and picture.
  4. LinkIn. I use LinkedIn as a way to publish my resume online. It connects me with friends and professionals and allows for others to find me based on my experience and expertise.
  5. HootSuite. I mostly came into contact with hoot suite through marketing internships. I was able to update businesses Facebook and twitter accounts at once and schedule automatic status updates through this one platform.

These are just a few of the social network platforms that I currently participate in and reasons why I have continued to use them.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

