Everyone’s an Expert at Something

Founded in 2008 by serial entrepreneur Peter Shankman, Help A Reporter Out (HARO) is one of the fastest-growing social media services in North America.


Every day, HARO brings nearly 30,000 reporters and bloggers, over 100,000 news sources and thousands of small businesses together to tell their stories, promote their brands and sell their products and services.

The main premise of HARO is to connect and provide resource to use for reporters, sources and subscriptions, and sponsors.

HARO is entirely free to sources and reporters, and unlike a majority of social media services, is independently owned and funded and has been profitable since day one. In addition, HARO serves as a vital social networking resource for sources, reporters and advertisers who use this service.

So if you have writer’s block and simply need that extra push, HARO is here to save the day. Take some time and explore HARO for yourself. It will for sure benefit you and your writing.

If you don’t believe me, check out a few sponser testimonials from HARO:

Peter Shankman has changed journalism. Back in the day, when I was looking for “just plain folks” to talk to for a story, I would too often find myself stuck in the circle of acquaintances-of-neighbors-of-colleagues-of-friends. Peter has created a wide-net, and HARO is often the first place I start when trying to find sources who I don’t already know.
Lisa Belkin
The Motherlode / NYTimes.com

“I just wanted to thank you guys at HARO for helping me with my story on Baby Boomers. I didn’t expect such prompt and voluminous replies while posting my request. And was pleasantly surprised when so many people wrote back offering to share their thoughts with me. The site seems to be a god-send for reporters working on tight deadlines.”

Mihir Dalal
ThomsonReuter
“Just wanted to say thanks for the HARO service. I recently queried Profnet about a story I’m doing on resume fraud pertaining to diploma mills and got a few off-target responses. Then I tried HARO with a similarly worded query, and received some very strong, quotable sources, right on-point.”
Lorna Collier
GetEducated.com
“Thank you so much for your service. Help a Reporter Out produced 15 responses to my request for experts who could talk about children reading to therapy dogs. I used two of them in my article and I will definitely turn to Help a Reporter Out when I need sources for future articles.”
John Piekarski
SoSara
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

